Finalists selected for this year's Be Proud Awards

Policing heroes from across Avon and Somerset will be recognised at an awards ceremony this June, as this year’s Be Proud Awards finalists have been chosen.

A final judging panel, including Police and Crime Commissioner (PCC) Sue Mountstevens, Chief Constable Andy Marsh and representatives from award sponsors BT, Capita and SEA, had the difficult decision of selecting this year’s finalists from the shortlisted nominations.

The unsung heroes including police officers, members of staff, specials, volunteers and teams will be invited to a ceremony at Cadbury House in Congresbury on 12 June, where the overall force winner for each category will be announced.

PCC Sue Mountstevens said: “I want to congratulate everyone who was nominated, all those who were shortlisted and all the finalists. The awards are about celebrating those unsung heroes who go above and beyond in policing. I look forward to celebrating your achievements at the awards ceremony and seeing the reactions of our overall force winners on the night.”

Chief Constable Andy Marsh added: “It has been very humbling to read about the bravery and hard work of so many of our officers, staff and volunteers who ensure the communities of Avon and Somerset are safe.

“The examples of professionalism, dedication and commitment to the communities that I have read are truly inspiring. I’m looking forward to celebrating the success of the extraordinary individuals and teams who are part of Avon and Somerset Police.”

The Be Proud Awards are only possible thanks to the support of our proud partners including BT, SEA, Capita, Unison and Double Tree Hilton Cadbury Hotel.

Our finalists are:

For Neighbourhood Officer of the Year, finalists include Inspector Robert Cheeseman, Sergeant Wayne Hick, Sergeant Adam O’Loughlin and PCSO Susan Thompson. For Response Officer of the Yearfinalists include PC Christopher Gent, PC Mike Steven and PC Anna Hall.

For Investigator of the Year we have four finalists including Simon McFall, Catherine King, Tracey Ormand and Lucy Hassell.

For Police Staff Member of the Year, our five finalists include Louise Mowbray, Helen Rollings, Esther Wride and Nicola King.

For Police Support Volunteer of the Year, finalists include David Simmonds from Avon and Somerset Search and Rescue Team, Claire Hopkins and Kirstie Mayes.

For Special Constable of the Year, finalists including Jordan Howe, Roland Lock and Samuel Carter.

For the Specialist Operations Award, finalists include Operation Encounter – the team behind tackling County Lines in Weston-super-Mare and Yeovil - and the Underwater Search Unit.

Finally, the Policing Team of the Year, finalists include Team 1 Base 3 covering Broadbury Road, Hartcliffe Policing Team, Weston Town Centre Team and Wellington Town Policing Team.