Be Proud Award Finalists announced

Finalists for each of the eight categories of this year’s Be Proud Awards have now been announced following the final stage of judging.

The first round of judging took place in February, when a panel of judges including two independent members and representatives from the Constabulary and Office of the Police and Crime Commissioner sifted through over 200 nominations.

The shortlisted nominees then went on to be considered by a panel which included Police and Crime Commissioner Sue Mountstevens, Chief Constable Andy Marsh and Mike Norton, Editor of The Bristol Post and one of the awards key sponsors.

Finalists will be invited to attend a special awards dinner on May 18 at Cadbury House Hotel, Congresbury, where the overall winners for Avon and Somerset in each category will be announced.

Police and Crime Commissioner Sue Mountstevens said: “Reading the nominations was a real joy, as it’s clear what a difference you, as individuals, volunteers and teams, make to the communities you serve. You truly deserve the recognition.

“Comments such as ‘this individual is always motivated and willing to get stuck in to make a difference in their community’ are great endorsements amongst the hundreds of glowing statements the local people made in their nominations.

“I want to congratulate everyone who was nominated, all those who were shortlisted and all finalists. I look forward to celebrating your achievements at the awards ceremony and seeing the reactions of our overall force winners on the night.”

Chief Constable Andy Marsh said: “This is the first year that I’ve been involved in the Be Proud Awards and I have been deeply impressed by the standard of nominations. The examples of professionalism, dedication and commitment to the communities we serve, made the judging process really tough.

“It’s been a privilege to read the nominations, particularly from the public that highlight the exemplary efforts of our workforce. The fact we received over 200 nominations is testament to the hard work shown by all neighbourhood, investigations and response teams, members of staff, specials and volunteers.

For Neighbourhood Officer of the Year, finalists include PC Richard Jeffery for Bristol, PC James Rochford for North East and PCSO John Winfield for Somerset. For Response Officer of the Year, finalists include PC Emma Hedges for Bristol, PS Ryan Matthews for North East and PC Anne Snell for Somerset.

Three finalists have been selected for Investigator of the Year. For Police Staff Member of the Year, finalists include Elizabeth Billington for Bristol, Seth Cooke for HQ, Janet Bebbington for North East and Rebecca Marshall for Somerset.

For Police Support Volunteer of the Year, finalists include Cadet Leader Hope for Bristol, Christine Lucas for HQ, Cadet Leader Chris James for North East and Neighbourhood Watch Chair Nick Gough for Somerset.

For Special Constable of the Year, finalists include Hope for Bristol, David Elliot for North East and Michael Sharman for Somerset. Simon Bale has been awarded with Special Recognition for this category.

For the Specialist Operations Award, finalists including PC Tina Newman, those who make up the Constabulary’s Disrupt Team and PS Edward Hawkins. For Policing Team of the Year, finalists include Team 5 – North Bristol, those who make up Operation Oblique and the Operation Hazel team. The Bristol Schools Officers have been awarded with Special Recognition for this category.

The Be Proud Awards are only possible thanks to the support of our proud partners including The Bristol Post, Western Daily Press, BT, AN: Event Services, Deloitte, Nomura, SEA, Double Tree Hilton Cadbury Hotel, Securitas and Unison.